Bigger fines for driving while using a cellphone
It is illegal in Oregon to drive while using a cellphone or texting. But drivers are ignoring the law. So, to get drivers' attention lawmakers want to make it a more expensive law to break.
Thousands of people every year cause accidents - and die - while talking or texting on cellphones. Tim Plummer - Oregon State Police knows why. "Driving while using a cellphone reduces the amount of brain activity associated with driving by 37 percent."
It's called Distracted Driving. State Senator Peter Courtney says it's as dangerous as driving drunk...so...he likes a tougher law and fine. "It would elevate the offense to a Class B violation resulting in a presumptive fine of $260 and a maximum fine of $1,000."
As a Senate committee gave preliminary okay to the bill they found out a House bill would jack the fine up to two-thousand dollars.